城市丰收的故事
首页 / 关于我们 /

城市丰收的故事

我们的教会致力于建立一间强盛的教会,其间充满信心和纯洁的属灵气氛,每个会友都参与服事,门训他们遵守神的大诫命,完成主的大使命及文化职任。

城市丰收教会的故事从1989年开始。当时康希是一名巡回传道人兼宣教士,但上帝呼召他兴起全新的世代,横扫亚洲。年仅25岁的康希选择顺服上帝的呼召,和20个年轻人在建安大厦(Peace Centre)一起开拓了一间全新的教会。

城市丰收的故事

接下来的二十年,城市丰收教会迅速地扩张。到了2009年,我们的会众人数已达到32,000人,每周回应呼召、决志信主的人平均有400人。城市丰收关怀服务社(CHCSA)每一年帮助超过14,000名贫穷与有需要的人士。在宣教方面,我们有80间联盟教会。我们也积极地差派上百个团队出去开拓教会或参与救灾工作。2012年,城市丰收教会被视为世界十大教会之一1。我们的节目也在亚洲基督徒电视台上播放,向数百万人传福音。

2003年,康希教导文化职任并挑战会友贴近和进入文化,成为有基督样式的公民,使用创意来服事社会,叫上帝得荣耀。我们主要的活动就是跨界计划。康希的妻子耀珊——教会的共同创办人与敬拜主领——被差派出去,进入流行文化领域,先是到亚洲,然后到美国。我们真心相信透过这个计划,我们能向世界各地未上教会的人传福音。确实,凭着神的恩典,我们有幸带领成千上万人接受基督成为他们的救主。

城市丰收的故事

2010年是我们教会成立以来最黑暗的时期。康希和教会的几位资深领袖需接受政府调查,后来在初级法院上因失信罪被判刑。当六人提出上诉时,上诉法院裁定他们触犯了基本的失信罪并减轻了他们的判刑2。同时法官也发现六人的动机不是为了个人利益,他们也没有对教会造成任何永久性的亏损——所有金额已连本带利归还给教会3

我们曾经有一度感觉自己将无法走出这深重的磨难,但我们服事的是一位信实的神——祂对城市丰收教会的爱从未改变。年复一年、日复一日,在一场接着一场的聚会中,我们慢慢站起来,重振旗鼓,一步一步地往前走。上帝永不止息的怜悯和恩典每一天保守了我们。祂确实将我们的哀哭转为喜乐,使我们在这整个过程中更纯洁、更像基督也更多降服。

城市丰收的故事

纵然我们的事工在本地及海外的规模与影响力都减少了,但我们的会友仍然委身于我们的异象和使命。除了每周主要的英文崇拜之外,我们也服事说中文和广东福建话的会友,印尼、菲律宾、日本的社群,以及智能障碍者、孩童和婴儿。与此同时,CHCSA也继续服事乐龄人士、青少年和有需要的家庭。2018年,耀珊将我们的使命宣言精简为四大核心价值:遇见上帝(Encounter God)、发展目的(Cultivate Purpose)、经历家庭(Experience Family)、带出改变(Make A Difference)。我们渴望每一位来到城市丰收教会的人都能经历到这四点——E.C.E.M.。

过去三十年,透过我们信心的试炼,圣灵在我们里面生出了忍耐、破碎、品格和盼望。我们学习更多爱神、更多服事人,也因此更亲近父神。我们对医治受伤之人、满足贫穷之人的需要以及宣教的热忱也日益增长。我们渴望我们的世代能够更多地经历耶稣基督与祂的国度的真实。我们深信——教会最好的时候,就是世界最好的时候!

“愿你的国降临;
愿你的旨意行在地上,
如同行在天上。“
马太福音6:10

1 https://gcnw.tv/2012/01/18/10-global-churches-larger-than-americas-largest/
2 Judgment, Magistrate’s Appeals No 147–152 of 2015
3 Para 493, Judgment, Magistrate’s Appeals No 147–152 of 2015

The City Harvest Story
Home / About Us /

The City Harvest Story

We are a church that is committed to building a strong spiritual atmosphere of faith and purity, where every member is released into ministry, discipled in the Great Commandment, to obey the Great Commission and the Cultural Mandate.

The story of City Harvest Church began in 1989 when Kong Hee, then an itinerant preacher and missionary, was called by the Lord to raise up a generation which would take Asia by storm. Kong was only 25 years old when he chose to obey God’s call, starting a new church with a handful of 20 youths meeting at Peace Centre.

The City Harvest Story

Over the next 20 years, CHC expanded at a rapid rate. By 2009, we had a congregation size of 32,000 members, with an average of 400 responders to Christ each week during our altar calls. City Harvest Community Services Association was helping more than 14,000 poor and needy people annually. On the missions front, we had 80 affiliate churches, and we were actively sending out hundreds of teams to do church-planting or disaster relief work. In 2012, CHC was considered one of the 10 largest churches in the world1. We were also on Christian television in Asia, reaching millions with the gospel.

In 2003, Kong taught on the Cultural Mandate and challenged the members to engage culture with relevance, creatively serving society as Christlike citizens, for the glory of God. Our chief initiative was the Crossover Project. Kong’s wife, Sun, our cofounder and worship leader, was sent out to engage the pop music industry, first in Asia, then in the US. We genuinely believed that through this project, we would be able to share the gospel with the unchurched across the world. Indeed, by the grace of God, we had the privilege to lead hundreds of thousands to receive Christ as their Saviour and Lord.

The City Harvest Story

2010 marked the darkest period of our existence as a church. Kong and a number of our senior leaders were investigated by the authorities, and were subsequently sentenced in the Subordinate Courts for criminal breach of trust. When the six appealed against the verdict and sentences, the Appeal Court found them guilty of basic criminal breach of trust and reduced their sentences2. The Court also noted that the six were not motivated by personal gain, and no permanent loss was intended or caused to CHC – all the monies were returned to the church with interest3.

It seemed for a time that we would not emerge from this terrible ordeal. But we serve a faithful God, and His love for CHC has not changed. Day by day, week by week, service by service, we picked ourselves up and moved forward, one step at a time. God’s relentless mercy and grace sustained us each day. He has indeed turned our sadness into gladness, making us purer, more Christlike and more surrendered in the whole process.

The City Harvest Story

Although the size and influence of our ministry have been reduced, both locally and overseas, our members are still committed to our vision and mission. Beyond the weekly main English services, we continue to minister to our Mandarin and dialect-speaking members, Indonesians, Filipinos, Japanese, the intellectually-disabled, and our children and infants. At the same time, CHCSA continues to serve the elderly, youth and needy families. In 2018, Sun refined our mission statement into four core values: Encounter God, Cultivate Purpose, Experience Family and Make A Difference. E.C.E.M. is what we desire for every person who comes to our church.

Over the past three decades, through the testing of our faith, the Holy Spirit has produced in us perseverance, brokenness, character and hope. We have drawn closer to God the Father by loving Him more and serving others more. Our passion for healing those who hurt, meeting the needs of the poor, and doing mission continues to grow. Our prayer is that the reality of Jesus Christ and His kingdom will be experienced in an ever greater way in our generation. Our firm belief is that our world is at its best when the church is at its best!

“Your kingdom come, Your will be done,
on earth as it is in heaven.”
Matthew 6:10

1 https://gcnw.tv/2012/01/18/10-global-churches-larger-than-americas-largest/
2 Judgment, Magistrate’s Appeals No 147–152 of 2015
3 Para 493, Judgment, Magistrate’s Appeals No 147–152 of 2015